Joseph P. Hougnon, Attorney at Law

Category: Misdemeanor Charges Defense


The Basics of Being Charged with a Misdemeanor in California

Although the term “misdemeanor” sounds much less ominous than “felony” when you are charged with a crime, do not think for a moment that being charged with a misdemeanor crime is something to be taken lightly. Misdemeanors convictions can still have a big impact on your life. Misdemeanors fall into two basic categories: Standard – punishable by up to six months in jail and a fine of up to $1,000. Gross or aggravated – punishable by up to 364 days in jail and fine of up to $1,000 or more. There are also certain crimes in California that are considered… Read More